Social program

  • The gala dinner will be held on Wednesday at the Jeanne Laurent space located near the Palais des Papes in the garden of Rocher des Doms. This site was the space of the former water tanks of Avignon (nineteenth century) and has 4 naves separated by stone arches. A bay window offers a panoramic view of the Rhône, the St. Bénezet Bridge and Villeneuve-lez-Avignon.


1) Discovery of the historic town (guided tour) : With its ramparts, monuments, beautiful building fronts of private mansions, typical streets, little squares and churches, Avignon will surprise you by the richness and diversity of its heritage! Duration: about 2 hours.


2) Coupled tour Popes’ palace / Bridge Saint-Bénezet : Discover two witnesses from Avignon history (world Heritage of UNESCO): the Palace of the Popes, the biggest Gothic palace of the Occident, and also the history of St. Bénezet Bridge and its legend.


3) Self-tour of Collection Lambert and Petit Palais museum: Immerse yourself into the Contemporary Art Collection Lambert reflecting the great art movements of our time (Minimal art, Conceptual art, Land art, painting 80s, video and photography for 90) and visit the Petit Palais museum with an outstanding collection of Italian and Provencal paintings from the late 13th to the early 16th centuries, and with a collection of Romanesque and Gothic Avignon sculptures.



4) Visit to the Domaine de la Chapelle at Châteauneuf-de-Gadagne : Discover the Domaine de la Chapelle (old novitiate of the Jesuits of Avignon of the XVII ° century) during a guided tour of the cellar in the company of Sylvain Boussier, winemaker and Doctor in Computer Science. You will have a guided tour of the winery with explanations on the methods of vinification and winemaking, a tasting of the cuvées produced  (red, white and rosé) and make a walk through the nearby vineyards. Duration: about 2H30, including 1 hour with the shuttle coach.


5) Discovery of the Baux-de-Provence : Located in the heart of the Alpilles on a rocky plateau, the city of Les Baux de Provence dominates Arles and the Camargue and offers breathtaking panoramic views. The village, classified and labeled as “one of the most beautiful villages in France”, has a rich heritage of 22 historical monuments: church, castle, town hall, hospital, chapels, houses, doors … You will visit the village and the castle. Duration: about 4 hours, including a 2 hours with the shuttle coach. 


6) Canoe trip on the Sorgue river FullDiscover the beautiful scenery offered by the Sorgue during a canoe descent from Fontaine de Vaucluse (base: canoe evasion) to Isle sur la Sorgue. A suitable outfit (water shoes, shorts, tee-shirt, swimsuit), a towel and spare clothes are recommended. Duration: about 3H30, including 1H30 with the shuttle coach.

Programme social

  • Le repas de gala aura lieu le mercredi soir à l’espace Jeanne Laurent, situé à deux pas du Palais des Papes, dans le jardin du Rocher des Doms. L’espace, anciens réservoirs d’eau potable d’Avignon (XIXe siècle), est composé de 4 nefs séparées par des voûtes en pierre de taille, et une baie vitrée offre une vue panoramique sur le Rhône, le pont Saint-Bénezet et Villeneuve-lez-Avignon.

bande_ejd2

1) Découverte du centre historique (visite guidée) : Avec ses remparts intacts, ses monuments et ses hôtels particuliers, ses jardins, ses rues typiques et ses églises, Avignon va vous surprendre par la richesse et la diversité de son patrimoine ! Durée : environ 2 heures.
bande_vis1

2) Visite guidée couplée Palais des Papes / Pont Saint-Bénezet : Découvrez deux témoins majeurs de l’histoire d’Avignon, classés au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO : le Palais des Papes, le plus important palais gothique de l’Occident , et aussi l’histoire du pont Saint-Bénezet et sa légende.

bande_vis2

3) Visites libres de la Collection Lambert et du Petit Palais : Faites le grand saut entre la Collection Lambert d’art contemporain qui reflète les grands mouvements de l’art de notre temps (art Minimal, art Conceptuel, Land art, peinture des années 80, vidéo et photographie pour les années 90) et la visite du musée du Petit Palais  qui abrite une collection exceptionnelle de peintures italiennes et provençales fin XIIIe – début XVIe siècles ainsi qu’une collection de sculptures avignonnaises romanes et gothiques.

bande_vis3

4) Visite du Domaine de la Chapelle à Châteauneuf-de-Gadagne : Découvrez le Domaine de la Chapelle avec une visite commentée de la cave, en compagnie de Sylvain Boussier, vigneron et docteur en Informatique (enseignant au DUT STID d’Avignon) et effectuez une petite balade dans les vignes proches du domaine. Durée totale : environ 2H30  dont 1H de trajet AR.

bande_vis4

5) Découverte de la cité des Baux-de-Provence : Situé au cœur des Alpilles sur un plateau rocheux, la cité des Baux-de-Provence domine Arles et la Camargue et offre un panorama exceptionnel Le village, classé et labellisé « un des plus beaux villages de France », présente un patrimoine riche de 22 monuments historiques : église, château, hôtel de ville, hôpital, chapelles, maisons, portes… Vous visiterez le village et le château. Durée totale : environ 4H dont 2H de trajet AR.

bande_vis5

6) Descente de la Sorgue en canoë : Découvrez les plus beaux paysages que propose la Sorgue en effectuant sa descente en canoë de Fontaine de Vaucluse (base canoë évasion) à l’Isle sur la Sorgue. Une tenue adaptée (chaussures d’eau, short, tee-shirt), une serviette de bain ainsi que des vêtements de rechange sont conseillés. Durée totale : environ 3H30 dont 1H30 de trajet AR.

bande_vis6

avignon_tourisme