The university in Avignon

The University of Avignon is both one of the most ancient and one of the most recent universities of France. The legal and theological schools existing in Avignon in the 13th century were federated into a Studium generale in 1303 by the bull of Pope Boniface VIII and the charter of Charles II of Anjou, King of Sicily, Count of Provence and Lord of Avignon. The Pope wanted to “compete” against the Sorbonne considered as being close to the French royal authority, Philippe le Bel.


Papal Bull of 1 July 1303

The presence of the Popes in Avignon (1309) develops the university, which then competes with the universities of Montpellier and Aix-en-Provence, with up to 17,000 students. The return of the popes to Rome (1378/1418) leads the university’s decline. Focused on the teaching of law, it loses its prestige while jesuits and seminars gain reputation. At the French Revolution, the city was annexed to France, and the university was suppressed like all French universities by the decree of September 15, 1793.

Avignon becomes again academic in 1963 with the opening of a scientific higher education center followed the next year by a literary Higher Education Center, both of them antennas of the faculties of Arts and Science of Aix-Marseille University. In 1972, the two units of teaching and research are merged into a university center.

On the day of July 17 in 1984, the university center becomes a full University under the name University of Avignon and Pays de Vaucluse. At that time, three teaching units (so-called UFRs: Arts and Social Sciences, Exact and Natural Sciences, Applied Sciences and Languages) formed around 2,000 students each year (slightly more than 7000 today). A fourth UFR resulted from the creation of a law school in 1991 in lieu of an annex of the University of Aix Marseille, and the IUT was established in 1990.

In 1997, the University moved to the new site of the old hospital Sainte Marthe, founded in 1354 and restored during the three preceding years. For the most of its part, the building is listed as a historic monument. Today, the University is composed of two campuses. One is inside the city walls (Hannah Arendt: 3 teaching units, multi-sports training center); the other, on the site of Agroparc (Jean-Henri Fabre : UFR of Sciences, IUT — University Institute of Technology, CERI — Center for Teaching and Research Interest in Computer Science). Since February 2016, the University of Avignon is associated with the Aix-Marseille University, together with the University of Toulon, the “École Centrale” of Marseille and “Sciences Po” Aix.

L’université à Avignon

L’université d’Avignon est à la fois une des plus anciennes et une des plus récentes universités de France. Fédérant les écoles juridiques et théologiques qui existaient à Avignon dès le 13ème siècle, un Studium generale est fondé en 1303 par la bulle du Pape Boniface VIII et par la charte de Charles II d’Anjou, Roi de Sicile, Comte de Provence et Seigneur d’Avignon. Le Pape voulait « concurrencer » la Sorbonne, jugée trop dépendante du Roi de France, Philippe le Bel.

bulle

Bulle papale du 1er juillet 1303 érigeant le studium d’Avignon en studium generale

L’université se développe avec la présence des papes à Avignon (1309), rivalisant avec les universités de Montpellier et Aix-en-Provence, jusqu’à accueillir 17 000 étudiants. Le retour des papes à Rome (1378/1418) entraîne le déclin de l’université. Celle-ci centrée sur le droit perd de son prestige face aux jésuites et aux séminaires. À la Révolution française, la ville est annexée à la France et l’université supprimée comme toutes les universités françaises par le décret du 15 septembre 1793.

Il faut attendre 1963 pour qu’Avignon redevienne une ville universitaire par l’ouverture d’un Centre d’enseignement supérieur scientifique, suivie l’année suivante de celle d’un Centre d’enseignement supérieur littéraire, antennes des facultés des Lettres et des Sciences d’Aix-Marseille. En 1972, les deux Unités d’enseignement et de recherche sont fusionnées dans un centre universitaire.

Le 17 juillet 1984, le centre universitaire devient une  université de plein exercice sous le nom d’Université d’Avignon et des Pays de Vaucluse. À cette époque, trois UFR (Lettres et Sciences Humaines, Sciences Exactes et Naturelles, Sciences et Langages Appliqués) se partageaient 2000 étudiants (un peu plus de 7000 aujourd’hui). Le quatrième pôle, le juridique, sera issu de la création d’une faculté de droit, en 1991, en lieu et place d’une annexe de l’Université d’Aix Marseille ; l’IUT est créé en 1990.

En 1997, la rentrée universitaire se fait pour la première fois sur le nouveau site de l’ancien hôpital Sainte Marthe, fondé en 1354 et restauré pendant trois ans. Le bâtiment est ainsi classé dans sa majeure partie. Aujourd’hui, l’université se compose de deux campus. L’un est à l’intérieur des remparts (Hannah Arendt : 3 UFR, complexe omnisport, centre de formation continue) ; l’autre, sur le site d’Agroparc (Jean-Henri Fabre : UFR Sciences, pôle Agrosciences, IUT, Centre d’enseignement et de recherche en informatique).  Depuis février 2016, l’Université d’Avignon est associée  à l’Université d’Aix-Marseille avec l’Université de Toulon, l’École centrale de Marseille et l’Institut d’études politiques d’Aix-en-Provence.